Wānaka Sun       

Central Otago Sports Awards are back!

Posted at 6:00am Thursday 08 Apr, 2021 | By Pat Deavoll editor@thewanakasun.co.nz

After a lapse year due to covid, the Central Otago Sports Awards are back on the calendar for 2021.

 The Awards will be held at the Wānaka Golf Club on Tuesday, 4 May.

Guidelines and nomination forms are on the Sport Otago website, with nominations closing 5 pm on 9 April.

Tiny Carruthers, from Sport Central, is encouraging regional sports organisations, clubs, coaches, whanau/family or individuals to make the effort to nominate well-performed athletes from their code.

Categories include junior and senior, male and female as well as Spirit of Central awards for both junior and senior. 

There is a category for Team of the Year and the John Fitzharris Services to Sport awards.

The Supreme Award, the Bruce Grant Memorial Trophy is chosen from Senior, Junior and Team award winners. Nominees must consent to be nominated and can nominate themselves. The nomination period runs from 1 January 2020 to 31 March 2021- it was extended to align with the Otago Sports Awards.

The Central Otago region stretches from Maniototo to Roxburgh, Kingston, Glenorchy, Makaroa and all points in between.

This year's awards look like having the most illustrious sporting names for several years. Names like Dougal Allan, Braden Currie, Alice Robinson, Nico Porteous and Zoi Sadowski – Synnott come to mind.

With such strong nominations expected, Sport Central is equally excited about the calibre of the judging panel. Sport Central's Jo Knight and Tiny Carruthers will be joined by Simon Battrick, QLDC Sport and Recreation Manager, Belinda Colling, X Double International and the experienced Tony Lepper.

If people are wanting more information, they should contact Jo Knight at jknight@sportotago.co.nz or 0272329390 

Read edition 1021 of the Wānaka Sun here. 


There are no comments on this article.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment.