Wanaka Sun       

Locals athletes among Halberg Awards finalists

Posted at 5:36am Thursday 17 Jan, 2019 | By Ruth Blunt editor@thewanakasun.co.nz

Four local athletes - Zoi Sadowski-Synnott (snowboarding), Nico Porteous (freeskiing), Adam Hall (Para alpine skiing) and Corey Peters (Para alpine skiing) - are among the 27 finalists for six categories in the ISPS Handa Halberg Awards.

The awards, now in its 56th year, celebrate and honour sporting achievements from 2018.
The finalists in the Para Athlete/Team, Sportsman, Sportswoman and Team categories will all be eligible for the supreme Halberg Award – the country's highest accolade for sporting excellence.   
The Halberg Awards judges reviewed a record 93 nominations to find the finalists list, recognising achievements in 2018 up to November 30.   

“A record number of nominations provided the judges a challenging job to review and create the shortlist with a year that provided so many outstanding achievements. We look forward to celebrating them on February 21 and crowning the supreme Halberg Award winner,” said Shelley McMeeken, chief executive of the Halberg Foundation.

Sadowski-Synnott makes the shortlist for the High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportswoman of the Year award, for winning a bronze medal at the Olympic Winter Games. She is joined by 2017 winner and 2016 supreme Halberg Award winner Lisa Carrington and Commonwealth Games medal-winning squash player Joelle King and Badminton Horse Trials winner Jonelle Price.

Freeskier Nico Porteous is a finalist for the ISPS Handa Sportsman of the Year for winning an Olympic Winter Games bronze medal. He is up against 2017 category winner Tom Walsh, Australian Supercars Champion Scott McLaughlin, and 2013 category winner Scott Dixon.

Paralympic alpine skiers Adam Hall and Corey Peters, join Para canoe racer Scott Martlew and Paralympic swimmer Sophie Pascoe as finalist in the ISPS Handa Para Athlete/Team of the Year.

Sadowski-Synnott and Porteous winning Winter Olympic bronze medals within hours of each other is one of nine sporting highlights from 2018 which have been shortlisted for New Zealand's Favourite Sporting Moment – the only category voted for by the public at the Awards. Text SM1 to 556 to vote for our local Olympians.

Other awards presented during the ceremony include; ISPS Handa Team of the Year category, Buddle Findlay Coach of the Year, Sky Sport Emerging Talent award, Sport New Zealand Leadership, Lifetime Achievement and inductees into the Sports Hall of Fame.
The annual Awards is the major fundraiser for the Halberg Foundation, the charity set up by Olympic athletics champion Sir Murray Halberg (ONZ), which aims to enhance the lives of physically disabled young New Zealanders by enabling them to participate in sport and recreation.
The winners will be announced on February 21 at Spark Arena in Auckland and televised live on SKY SPORT from 8pm.



There are no comments on this article.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment.